Overall, Umbraco is a very easy to use system and will feel familiar to all those who use computers on a regular basis. For illustrative purposes, I have used screengrabs from the backend of our own website. I will cover how to log in, how to navigate through the sections and pages, the text editor, using images, saving and publishing, how to access further functions and sorting – and finally how to log out.

The CMS is accessed through your web browser by typing in your web address and adding '/admin' at the end. You will then see this screen appear:

To gain access you need to insert your username and password which has been provided to you. The first time you login you will be asked to change the password.

To gain access you need to insert your username and password which has been provided to you. The first time you login you will be asked to change the password.

Once logged in you will be inside the back-end of your website and you can use the CMS to make updates and other changes to your website which will be live once you click the Save and publish button.The functions that you have will be specific to your site and needs – but here are a few of the basics to get you started and provide an illustration of how it works.

The homepage welcomes you to Umbraco and on the left in the white area you can see the CONTENT navigation tree. The black bar to the left of that is the section menu and shown here are the CONTENT and MEDIA sections only.

The homepage welcomes you to Umbraco and on the left in the white area you can see the CONTENT navigation tree. The black bar to the left of that is the section menu and shown here are the CONTENT and MEDIA sections only.

To access the individual website pages you simply expand the content tree on the left by clicking on the arrow to the left of the title that appears when you hover over it.

To access the individual website pages you simply expand the content tree on the left by clicking on the arrow to the left of the title that appears when you hover over it.

Once you have selected a page to edit the section on the right changes. Here you can see our home page divided in sections by the tabs at the top. It also displays the first tab's content and you can see a text editor used.

Once you have selected a page to edit the section on the right changes. Here you can see our home page divided in sections by the tabs at the top. It also displays the first tab's content and you can see a text editor used.

If you are pasting in text (rather than typing straight into Umbraco) it is important that you option click to select the option to 'Paste and Match Style' as circled. This ensures that any formatting (from eg. Word or an old website) is not transferred into this site.

If you are pasting in text (rather than typing straight into Umbraco) it is important that you option click to select the option to 'Paste and Match Style' as circled. This ensures that any formatting (from eg. Word or an old website) is not transferred into this site.

If you have made changes and forgotten to press Save and publish Umbraco will check with you before it lets you go to another page. You can then select to discard the changes you have just made or stay on the page, as circled.

If you have made changes and forgotten to press Save and publish Umbraco will check with you before it lets you go to another page. You can then select to discard the changes you have just made or stay on the page, as circled.

To access functions for a section or page, you click on the three dots that appear when you hover over an item. Umbraco will then provide you with the options that you are most likely to do – in this case add a Case Study or Project. To access more functions you simply click on the 'Do something else' button at the bottom.

To access functions for a section or page, you click on the three dots that appear when you hover over an item. Umbraco will then provide you with the options that you are most likely to do – in this case add a Case Study or Project. To access more functions you simply click on the 'Do something else' button at the bottom.

One function that is particularly useful is to Sort. This allows you to re-arrange the order of items.

One function that is particularly useful is to Sort. This allows you to re-arrange the order of items.

After selecting the Sort function you will see a list containing all the content items in that section. You then simply drag and drop them into the order that you want and click the big green Save button.

After selecting the Sort function you will see a list containing all the content items in that section. You then simply drag and drop them into the order that you want and click the big green Save button.

The MEDIA section, circled, contains all the images and graphics. This means you have a central repository which makes ongoing use more efficient.

The MEDIA section, circled, contains all the images and graphics. This means you have a central repository which makes ongoing use more efficient.

Most sites manage images by having different crops, circled top right, and once the crop is selected the image can be moved around or magnified as desired using the slider, circled bottom. Once you press save all the instances that uses that particular image crop will be updated automatically.

Most sites manage images by having different crops, circled top right, and once the crop is selected the image can be moved around or magnified as desired using the slider, circled bottom. Once you press save all the instances that uses that particular image crop will be updated automatically.

If you would like to update an image for a newer version you simply select the Remove files, circled, and upload the replacement. The image will then be updated in all instances where it is used.

If you would like to update an image for a newer version you simply select the Remove files, circled, and upload the replacement. The image will then be updated in all instances where it is used.

Lastly, after you have made all the edits you logout by clicking the top left icon and select the orange logout button. You will then automatically be taken to the login page as shown at the top.

Lastly, after you have made all the edits you logout by clicking the top left icon and select the orange logout button. You will then automatically be taken to the login page as shown at the top.

This is a very small sample of the functionality available with Umbraco version 7 and covers the very basics. Because it is an enterprise platform we can make it do anything such as e-commerce, booking management, job applications to name a few, as well as integrate your site with other systems. We can also adjust the functionality to suit specific client requirements and different types of users within organisations. We'd love to tell you more about so please don't hesitate to get in touch.